Advisory Board

Prof. Luke Zettlemoyer

University of Washington

Luke Zettlemoyer is an Assistant Professor in the Computer Science & Engineering department at the University of Washington. He does research in natural language processing, with a focus on empirical computational semantics. Honors include paper awards at UAI and ACL, selection to the DARPA CSSG, an NSF CAREER Award, and an Allen Distinguished Investigator Award. Luke received his PhD from MIT and was a postdoc at the University of Edinburgh.

Dr. David Traum

University of Southern California

Dr. David Traum is the director of Natural Language Research at the Institute for Creative Technologies (ICT) and a Research Faculty member of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Southern California (USC).  He leads the Natural Language Dialogue Group at ICT, which currently consists of seven Ph.D.s, and several students. More information about the group can be found here:  Traum’s research focuses on Dialogue Communication between Human and Artificial Agents.  He has engaged in theoretical, implementational and empirical approaches to the problem, studying human-human natural language and multi-modal dialogue, as well as building a number of dialogue systems to communicate with human users. Traum has authored over 200 refereed technical articles, is a founding editor of the Journal Dialogue and Discourse, has chaired and served on many conference program committees, and is a past President and current board member of SIGDIAL, the international special interest group in discourse and dialogue.  Traum earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science at the University of Rochester in 1994.

Prof. Shri Narayanan

University of Southern California

Shrikanth (Shri) Narayanan is Andrew J. Viterbi Professor of Engineering at the University of Southern California, where he is Professor of Electrical Engineering, and jointly in Computer Science, Linguistics, Psychology, Neuroscience and Pediatrics, and Director of the Ming Hsieh Institute. Prior to USC he was with AT&T Bell Labs and AT&T Research. His research focuses on human-centered information processing and communication technologies. He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America, IEEE, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Shri Narayanan is the incoming Editor in Chief for IEEE Journal on Selected Topics in Signal Processing, an Editor for the Computer, Speech and Language Journal and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing, the Journal of Acoustical Society of America, IEEE Transactions on Signal and Information Processing over Networks, and the APISPA Transactions on Signal and Information Processing having previously served an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions of Speech and Audio Processing (2000-2004), the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine (2005-2008) and the IEEE Transactions on Multimedia (2008-2012). He is a recipient of several honors including the 2015 Engineers Council’s Distinguished Educator Award, the 2005 and 2009 Best Transactions Paper awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society and serving as its Distinguished Lecturer for 2010-11, and as an ISCA Distinguished Lecturer for 2015-16. With his students, he has received a number of best paper awards including a 2014 Ten-year Technical Impact Award from ACM ICMI and Interspeech Challenges in 2009 (Emotion classification), 2011 (Speaker state classification), 2012 (Speaker trait classification), 2013 (Paralinguistics/Social Signals), 2014 (Paralinguistics/Cognitive Load) and in 2015 (Non-nativeness detection). He has published over 650 papers and has been granted 17 U.S. patents.

Prof. Yonghong Yan

Chinese Academy of Sciences

Prof. Yonghong Yan holds over 50 patents and has published over 200 peer reviewed papers. He is an executive committee member of the Chinese Acoustics Society, associate editor-in-chief of Applied Acoustics, and editorial board member of Journal of Acoustics and Journal of Computer Science & Technology. He was selected as an outstanding young scholar of the Hundred Talents Program in 2002. He was awarded Chinese NSF Distinguished Young Scientist in 2009.

Prof. Dan Weld

University of Washington

Daniel S. Weld is Thomas J. Cable / WRF Professor of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington and an Entrepreneurial Faculty Fellow. After formative education at Phillips Academy, he received bachelor’s degrees in both CS and Biochemistry at Yale University in 1982. He landed a Ph.D. from the MIT Artificial Intelligence Lab in 1988, received a Presidential Young Investigator’s award in 1989, an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator’s award in 1990, was named AAAI Fellow in 1999 and deemed ACM Fellow in 2005. Dan was a founding editor for the Journal of AI Research, was area editor for the Journal of the ACM, guest editor for Computational Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence, and was Program Chair for AAAI-96. Dan has published two books and scads of technical papers. Dan is an active entrepreneur with several patents and technology licenses. He co-founded Netbot Incorporated, creator of Jango Shopping Search (acquired by Excite), AdRelevance, a monitoring service for internet advertising, (acquired by Media Metrix), Nimble Technology, a data integration company (acquired by Actuate). Dan is a Venture Partner at the Madrona Venture Group, and a member of the Technical Advisory Boards for the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence, Context Relevant, Spare5, and Madrona.

Our Partners

See All Partners >